Exhibition Awards

Hilliard Society of Miniature Art - Exhibition and sale of miniature paintings and sculpture

(Above: Erica Youngman - 'Wells' Best in Show 2011)

Showcasing the Award-winning miniatures from our annual exhibitions. A full list of all winners since the Society was founded is also published at the front of the Exhibition Catalogue each year.







  • Hilliard society of miniature art 2014 award winning miniature artwork


  • Hilliard society of miniature art - 2013 award winning miniature artwork


  • hilliard society of miniature art - award winning miniatures 2012

As with all such organisations, many people have supported the Society since its inception. We are particularly grateful to Jillian Llewellyn Lloyd and Ernest Chew of the Llewellyn Alexander Gallery, London, who have so generously supported the Society over the years. With their recent retirement and the closure of their gallery in 2018 provision has been made for the continuation of the Llewellyn Alexander Award and we are most grateful to them for this.

Awards also include the Geoff Hunt Memorial Award, given for a work with a marine theme, which commemorates our second President. We are grateful to Mrs. Pamela Hunt who kindly donates this award.

The Bell Award for Portraiture is an impressive cup donated by the late Mr. Brian Bell whilst the Mike Titterton Award, generously donated by Mike’s wife Lesley, is awarded in memory of a former Council Member and long-standing artist member, Mike.

Mary Scott-Kestin, wife of retired member Colin, presents an award for best wildlife painting, whilst Joyce Rowsell, our President and multi-award winning artist, gives an award for best work in oil or acrylic.

The Marion Winter Kangaroo Awards for Excellence are generously donated by HS artist member Marion and her husband Manfred, and the Most Popular Exhibit is awarded to the artist who receives the most votes from visitors to the exhibition. This award is given by Rosalind Pierson in memory of her parents, Lyall and Iris, who were both founder members and active supporters of the Society.

Since 2018 we have a new award for best work in watercolour, the Trevor Young Award. This award is given by Christine Young in memory of her husband, Trevor. We are most grateful to Christine and to all the award givers for their generosity and support.

Awards made by the Society include The President’s ChoiceThe Sue Burton Memorial Award, The Sue Lee Award and The Nicholas Hilliard Award.